Slick Tyres and PSI Stuff

wardy_mk
wardy_mk Posts: 6
edited February 2019 in MTB beginners
Hello. I'm a total newbie so please bear with me. I have entered the London to Brighton bike ride and have chosen to do it on a MTB. I've done this because I needed a bike (didn't have one) and I know I'd never use a road bike after the event so thought it financially prudent to get a MTB.
I've purchased a Specialized Pitch Sport and have taken it out yesterday for a quick 10km.
The tyres were very soft so I was wondering if anyone can tell me the PSI limitations of the tyres as a general rule of thumb. I got the XL version of the bike, I'm 6'2" and weigh 95kg - if that makes any difference.
Lastly, I understand that slick tyres (or ones with less knobbly bits) will aid me greatly on this road course - can anyone recommend a set which will be compatible with what I have purchased please?
Below is a link to the bike I have.
Thanks everyone!

https://www.evanscycles.com/specialized ... e-EV306345

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    The tyres should have the max psi written on the side. Pump up to that and see what it's like. See how you get on with those tyres before you change to slicks. They'll be good training
  • cougie wrote:
    The tyres should have the max psi written on the side. Pump up to that and see what it's like. See how you get on with those tyres before you change to slicks. They'll be good training

Ah, I haven't even noticed! Great stuff. Thanks.
  • mattyfez
    mattyfez Posts: 638
    Not sure if the specification has changed but my mates pitch sport came with specialized fast track tyres, which are quite light cross country tyres and small knobs so not bad on road with high enough pressure.

I'm a similar weight and height, and I'd hazard you'd want to be running at least 30psi, maybe a bit more on the back tyre.