Help I need smaller gears - what can I do? A GUIDE

1789101113»

Comments

• Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,011
    Red27 wrote:
    I'm new to road biking but have been mtbing for 25 years. First thing I noticed going up hills is how different the gearing is as I expected the road bike to be easier to climb than the much heavier mtb. My MTB has 1x11 with a 32 chainring and 10-42 cassette. My Trek Domane's smallest gear is 34 chainring and 32 cassette which is much more difficult on steep climbs. I literally just got the road bike so I'm sure it's premature to change anything but I believe my gearing is the best setup Shimano offers for hills, is it not? I live in Brevard, NC so there's lots of climbing but I put a lot of miles on trails each week so it's not like I'm new to cycling. I'm sure I'll get stronger but what options do I have with Shimano for getting something similar to what I have on my mtb for the steep hills? I think I read somewhere that the new Ultegra is going to have an option for more teeth on the cassette? Or is it easier to put a smaller chainring on? On flat ground I never use the smaller chainring anyways so I don't think going smaller would effect me at all. Or, should I just go to 1x11 like my mtb because that thing climbs like a billygoat? Thanks!

For a 1x11: Any ratio much below 4:1 (i.e. 44 front 11 smallest on the back) will limit your speed on the flat/downslopes, so I can't see this working. Also a single front means that you are going to have a lot of big gaps between gears, which makes it more difficult to maintain a steady cadence. I don't think road wheels can take the 10tooth cassettes either.

It should be possible to use your compact chainset with some MTB cassettes but you may need a longer derailleur

You can gain a bit by going to a triple chainset but this is expensive and you won't gain massive amounts (about 1 gear's worth).