Specialized Secteur upgrade query

skippy_77
skippy_77 Posts: 35
edited January 2019 in Workshop
I'd recently put a post about upgrading the rear derailleur on my Sectuer.
The suggestions were that i could and to put a medium cage. However I've got 8 gears on the back but the derailleurs suggested were 9 or 10 gear derailleurs.
I've been told by my local trusted bike shop I've used for years that i can't put a 9 or 10 speed derailleur on and that I'd have to put a 9 or 10 gear cassette on.
I want to know what other Sectuer owners have done to put more gears on.
I'm new to all this gearing malarkey. I would love more gears but i don't want to fork out on new shifters etc.

The Shimano 2300 derailleurs aren't good and just want a long term upgrade.

Is it possible to put 9 or 10 gears on the back of a secteur with out replacing the shifters.

What cheap options could i go with?

Comments

• Your shifters control how many gears your bike has. 8 speed shifters will only change through 8 gears on the cassette. If you want to run 9 or 10 speed cassettes you will have to change the shifters to match. No way around this.

Rear derailleurs are dumb and just follow the amount of cable movement from the shifter as long as they share the same shift ratio. Shimano 8, 9 and 10 speed rear mechs all have the same shift ratio of 1.7 and so will all work on your bike. If you fit a 10 speed rear derailleur you will still only have 8 gears as you have 8 speed shiters. The new Tiagra 10 speed 4700 is the exception to this and will not work so don't get one of them as the mech shift ratio changed.

Lots of help here with compatibility, it does get very confusing:-

https://www.artscyclery.com/science-beh ... atibility/

Hope this helps.

TP&S
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    I had 2300 on my Allez - fine whilst it lasted - but I hated the button that rubbed against my thumb.