Alternative Camera To Cycliq Fly12

Broono83
Broono83 Posts: 75
edited April 2019 in Commuting chat
Was going to post in Road Buying but as it’s for my commute thought I’d ask in here.

After being knocked off by a driver last year I’m after a couple cameras. Almost sold on the Fly 6 camera and light combo as price is about bearable and could always use an additional rear light.

But for a front camera I’m baulking a bit at the price and already have 2 good front lights. If I could buy the camera alone without the light for 150 I’d go for it but feel I’m paying a lot for a light I don’t need.

So any alternatives to the Fly 12 (or the 6 )? Main requirements, although I’m far from a camera expert:

Long battery life (>4 hours)
Loop recording over older data, as will be solely for incidents/insurance
1080p quality, 720 minimum

TIA

Comments

• elbowloh
    elbowloh Posts: 7,078
    Sorry, don't have an alternative, but I do have the Cycliq 12CE. I bought it through Cycle2Work, as it qualifies as a light, rather than as an action camera at Cycle Republic.

I think its a great camera and light, with good battery life and view quality. It has a good feature where in the case of an incident, you press the Q button and it will lock that 15 minute segment of video so it won't get overwritten. It also has accident detection, so if it detects you getting knocked off (angle from vertical) it will also lock that segment of video.

I really hate the mounts however, both the basic one included in the box and the outfront/garmin mount i paid extra for. They both come with various size shims, but none of them fit my bikes properly even though they have standard diameter bars. I've had to fashion shims from cut up tubes which is not ideal. I also broke one when i tried to remove the light, but Cycliq did replace this for free when I emailed them.

I also have the 6 (the old one) and that's good too.
    Felt F1 2014
    Felt Z6 2012
    Red Arthur Caygill steel frame
    Tall....