What MTB for Peak District?

geomickb
geomickb Posts: 147
edited May 2019 in MTB buying advice
Hey,

I have been riding a Canyon Yellowstone (HT) for the last five years and I think it is time for a new bike.

I'm really not sure what to get. Most of my riding is in the Peak District, so it usually means some road. I don't ride very hard or fast.

I'm not sure if I should get full suss or another HT?

What would the benefit of full suss be for me?

Not really got a budget but usually buy middle of the range. I normally just look at the MBR HT of the year award.

I'm considering a Sonder Transmitter.

Any thoughts?

Cheers,

Mick

Comments

• billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    Based on what you've said, I'd suggest another HT.

FS are great if you want to charge down hills and they help absorb a lot of trail bouncer/chatter.

I've ridden HT's a lot in the Peaks and if you aren't doing anything too full on, then a HT might be better. A FS is awesome on the right terrain but certainly not a tarmac or Tissington Trail /Manifold Valley type of bike.

Can't really suggest much in the way of what to go for, but as you say, the bike reviews do help. Anything Vitus, Boardman, Voodoo or Calibre could be a good starting point.
    "Ride, crash, replace"
  • geomickb
    When I say Peak District I don't mean The Tissington Trail, I mean mountain biking.

Anything in the Vertebrae guides. Three Shires, Hayfield, Ladybower etc
  • billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    geomickb wrote:
    When I say Peak District I don't mean The Tissington Trail, I mean mountain biking.

Anything in the Vertebrae guides. Three Shires, Hayfield, Ladybower etc

LOL - sorry - wasn't suggesting you were just doing the easy stuff.