Changing crank and bottom bracket

Graham of Madrid
Graham of Madrid Posts: 9
edited January 2019 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi there !

I’m a new member and need some help. I’m going to change the crankset and bottom bracket but it’s a job I’ve never done before. There's a lot of information around for newer bikes with more expensive components but my bike is relatively different. Overall, the transmission on this bike has covered a lot of miles and has been replaced piecemeal, it’s had a few cassettes, cable inners/outers, chains and a bottom bracket but it all needs replacing now. I’ve had this done in the past at the bike shop but this time round I’m doing it.

I’ve got a 2012 (3 * 8 speed) MTB which came from the factory with a Suntour SR XCT crankset (3 piece crank with square tapered spindle, cranks are 175mm long., the tooth difference is 42T 32T 22T). Problem is that the chain rings are worn and need replacing and I don’t know what to replace it with. The crankset seems to be a budget item where the individual rings are riveted on so a complete replacement is required.

I would like to find a replacement item which won’t break the bank and will be a plug and play fit not requiring any alteration to the Shimano Alivio front derailleur. I don’t know which brand I should choose, Shimano, SRAM or Suntour - hopefully someone can provide me a link to the sort of items I should be looking at ?

I need a link to the tool which removes the bottom bracket. I’ve seen a variety of splined tools but not sure exactly what I need. e.g I saw an ISIS tool but I'm not sure if it's for the bottom bracket or the crank.

Any help appreciated.
Thanks.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Standard crank puller, though its worth getting one for ISIS/Powerspine/Octalink with the extra button on the tip in case you change use one of those in the future.

You can fit a wide range of BB and cranks, this would be a decent option at a good price