Can I realistically achieve 300 Watts FTP this summer?

tonysj
tonysj Posts: 391
Hi All,

I've been cycling on roads for 2 years and being retired have plenty of time on my hands. I'm 56 yrs, 77 kg in good health and cycle 3 times a week, mainly on the Turbo due to weather.

Last July I did the FTP on a Turbo Trainer and achieved 279 Watts which I was very happy with. Today I did the FTP again on a Turbo following a set warm-up etc and managed 274 Watts so again well pleased with that as I'm limited with riding due to the weather and having to use the turbo outside in a garage.

Now I don't follow any online programmes, Swift, Trainer Road or other and have no training plan to follow tending to use GCN Turbo workouts on YouTube but I really want to push myself this year with my cycling and want to achieve 300 Watts on my FTP. My current VO2 Max is 50 and has slowly increased over the past 12 months but only by 4 points.

Is this realistic for me bearing in mind my age and that my ability is likely to decline the older I get?.

I don't have any ambitions to race but I do enjoy riding with friends on Sportive events. I tend to ride solo mainly when I'm in Training Mode because I push myself when I go out on a ride and others either don't want to ride at that pace or cant keep up.

I'm not in a cycling club but seriously thinking about joining one this year, I do ride in a club that's a Social riding club which is more about enjoying cycling and riding up in the Peak District stopping for Cafe breaks but I do enjoy those rides as well.

I could do with a few pointers on how to make progress which I can do without incurring any monthly cost or subscriptions as I have a very limited budget/income.

Can some one offer me advice on where to go and the type of sessions, indoor at the moment, that I need to follow.

Regards.

Tony.

Comments

• Hi Tony,