Trainer Road Ramp Test

kingrollo
kingrollo Posts: 3,198
Did this for the first time the other night - it just didn't feel right.

I have a tacx flow 2240 smart turbo

I also have a usb dongle (ant +)

As the available devices showed up I connected to the ant + dongle.

I was doing the ramp test for about 18 minutes - even as I was going up the ramps it didn't feel any more difficult - sure I fatigued but just feel this would have happened the same on a non smart turbo - in the end I wasn't hitting the power targets and thought the test would have stopped at this point - but just carried on

I got bored at step 13 - it gave me an ftp of 109 - I am new to all this training on turbo's ....what did I do wrong |?

I thought the trainer road ramp test was only supposed to last 8 minutes - yet it seems it would have gone on forever ?

Comments

• OnTheRopes
    OnTheRopes Posts: 460
    edited December 2018
    If you did this correctly, then you will have finished completely Bolloxed. You will have nothing left at the end and your heart rate will be pretty much maxed out. You would certainly not be bored, more likely scared of trying again for a while. If not then it sounds like something was wrong. Have a look at this if you like
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtKTdf9 ... bgtzhGe6Qo
  • duplicate
  • Forum.trainerroad.com will have all the info you need. But...

If you got bored you did it wrong. When the steps change you need to be hitting the power shown on screen not just pedalling at the same rate. 109W is very low so it certainly looks like something was amiss.

You basically stop the test when you fail, the test should only be really hard in the last few minutes. TR will then take your best 1 minute power to figure out your FTP.
  • kingrollo
    Forum.trainerroad.com will have all the info you need. But...