Why pay subscription when training SW is free?

Makes no sense. Why don't people just:
  1. Get the plan (either via trial period or pay for one month)
  2. Perform the workouts using free training SW
Why keep paying the subscription?

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,510
    What do YOU do?
  • dannbodge
    dannbodge Posts: 1,152
    Because I like riding with other people and doing races etc (Zwift user).

Plus the £13 a month isn't exactly breaking the bank. People spend more than that on coffee in a week.
  • wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    Makes no sense. Why don't people just:
    It takes time and effort to duplicate the training sessions in the free software. There could be a lot of sessions to duplicate. I can't be bothered with all that.

With the subscription software I can change things whenever I want to if I wish. I am not limited to what training sessions I have bothered to recreate or come up with myself (I have no experience with creating my own so I bet I couldn't make good ones with out a lot of trial and error)

The free software (I am assuming you mean Golden Cheetah) isn't particularly user friendly and I can't be bothered to work out how to use it properly. The Trainerroad (what I use) interface is simple to understand and use for what I want to get out of it.
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    Because TrainerRoad and Sufferfest are more fun.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • joey54321
    joey54321 Posts: 1,297
    Because if everyone did it we wouldn't have that option. Same arguments against people who rip films, if everyone did it there wouldn't be an industry left.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    If you want a free basic data logger for Android etc . Elite MyTraining will log your ANT+ /BLE devices and also gives you precious makebelieve miles as well - run it against YT GCN videos or Bike Channel climbing vids from Italy.