Am I getting that much more bike for the extra money?

SlickTurpin
SlickTurpin Posts: 2
edited October 2018 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

I'm a complete novice and this is my first post, I've noticed a lot of similar post to this one so I apologise if this comes across as repetitive, any guidance is much appreciated :)

I have moved to Sheffield to carry on my studies and would like to make use of the Peak District to blow off some steam, keep fit and have some fun while I'm at it. I have been looking at some hardtail bikes, originally my budget was £500 and after doing some home work it seems that the VooDoo Bizango is a solid entry level bike that offers good value for money at £650.

(I'm leaning towards the 29ers as I'll be cycling to the peaks and back and it seems intuative that having a bigger wheel would make this easier/faster - is there much difference between the 29s and 650B on the road???)

https://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/mountain-bikes/voodoo-bizango-29er-mens-mountain-bike-16-18-20-22-frames

However, 2 other bikes have caught my eye which are in the £1k range, The Vitus Sentier VR+ and the NukeProof Scout 290 Race

http://vitusbikes.com/products/sentier-vr-2018/

http://nukeproof.com/products/scout-290-race/

So really my questions are:

Am I getting £350 more bike with the 2 in the £1k range?
Out of the Nukeproof and Vitus, which is the better spec/value for money?
Do you have any other recommendations for a hard tail in the £1k range?

Any advise is appreciated :)

Comments

• Hi,

There isn't much between the Vitus and the Nukeproof, but the obvious differences are the wheel and tyre sizes.
    The Vitus has 27.5 wheels and you stated that you wanted a 29er, also the Vitus tyres are 2.6, which are getting to the wider end of the tyre spectrum.
    The Nukeproof has the 29er wheels and 2.35 tyres which tend to be the 'norm' for tyre width.