First ever 100 miles - Wellington to Fielding

sgt.pepper
sgt.pepper Posts: 300
edited October 2018 in Tour & expedition
Been meaning to ride 100 miles in a day for years, and finally got motivated to do it as part of a charity competition. Rode from Wellington to Fielding, with quite a strong headwind the whole way. Really glad I've finally done it. Took my most boring but sensible tourer - GT Legato with all the usual touring gear. I'm also a terrible photographer.

View over Pukerua Bay, an hour or so in.

EgRgcsb.jpg

Took this because I was suddenly back in Sussex.

PyBOaY6.jpg

There was a few miles of gravel next to the new motorway. This is where I saw the baby goats.

ELvTdJv.jpg

About 5 hours in, near a town called Shannon.

y80oFbm.jpg

I know my average speed was quite low, but I really paced it as I had never gone that far (plus the headwind).

lJ4LGsE.jpg

Comments

• sniper68
    sniper68 Posts: 2,910
    It clearly says 95.9miles?
    Did you do the extra 4.1miles to complete the 100?
  • Sniper68 wrote:

Ok, I had a headwind so I rounded up :? the roads in the last 10-20 miles were properly dangerous, otherwise I would've just cruised another 2 past my destination and back. Still quite proud of it though, but yes it wasn't quite 100.
  • sniper68
    sniper68 Posts: 2,910
    Sgt.Pepper wrote:
    Sniper68 wrote:

Ok, I had a headwind so I rounded up :? the roads in the last 10-20 miles were properly dangerous, otherwise I would've just cruised another 2 past my destination and back. Still quite proud of it though, but yes it wasn't quite 100.
    oxoman wrote:
    Take no notice, still a worthy accomplishment especially into a headwind. Nice pics.

Hey I wasn't having a dig just curious!
    I did my first 100(103) a couple of months ago 8) After riding the first 80 in a group,much faster than I'm comfortable with,I spent the last 23 riding alone into a horrible headwind.I know your pain :|
    #Kudos
    #Chapeau
  • craigus89