Advice on autum / winter / spring road bike jacket

fozworth
fozworth Posts: 142
edited October 2018 in Road buying advice
I’m pretty new to road cycling after years of mtbing and have had to buy a complete new kit setup . I’ve been looking at getting a decent (not silly expensive ) wind/waterproof breathable jacket . I’ve looked at so many reviews that tbh I’m pretty confused on what to go for . If I’m honest I’m not going to be riding out on a mega wet day ,although living in the UK that’s not to say you won’t get caught ina few downpours . So am I best off getting a shake dry ightweight packable jacket or a more technical complete jacket that I just wear a add layer underneath ? I know these fitted to be as waterproof but as previously said it’s more for showers and the odd downpour should I get caught .
Cheees
Ja
At the end of the day, it's night.

Comments

• mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,581
    Get something like a Castelli Alpha ROS jersey. Good for 95% of UK rides during the colder months. You'll get so much more use out of it then a full waterproof.
  • mrfpb
    mrfpb Posts: 4,569
    On a budget, I highly recommend the dhb Aeron range

The Roubaix jersey is my most used cold weather item. I combine it with one of their gilets for a little extra wind protection on hilly rides.

I use their Full Protection Softshell for the really cold and wet winter days

Look at bender review thread for comparisons between the Aeron range and the more pricey Rapha, Castelli and other brands

viewtopic.php?f=40013&t=13039887
  • Cheers ,for the reply . My budget is about £120 but I hope to get a sale item that would of been nearer £200
  • Altura night vision jackets are pretty good, in my experience. If you want to spend a lot more, Assos soft shells are nice.
  • mrfpb
    mrfpb Posts: 4,569
    fozworth wrote:
    Cheers ,for the reply . My budget is about £120 but I hope to get a sale item that would have been nearer £200
    Then keep an eye on this thread: