last of the summer race ramblings:2018

Toks
Toks Posts: 1,143
edited September 2018 in Amateur race
Cyclopark 23/08/2018

Mario Manelfi is a street fighter! Hard as nails; broke his collar bone and his back in crash two seasons ago but is still racing. He looks like he could survive in the Amazon jungle feeding off shredded pythons skins and coconut shells.

Once upon a time he was a promising 1st Cat racer (not far off domestic pro). Now hes a different physical specimen; a 80kg perhaps of pure muscle, he looks a ungainly on the bike but nevertheless effectively ambles his way through the Bunch.
Personally I’m always mesmerized by his chiseled hairless copper-colored calves ! I holla and he grunts a low-toned “hey toks” then two gear changes later he’s up front. Shortly after the bunch lines out like a stressed bungee cord. I glance up briefly as the only other black guy in the race leads us all down the slight descent.

I’m a 53 year old VET rider and it always feels good to be racing in a nice big bunch on a summers evening. Ooooo look at us sucking wheels like pros
As the pace slows upfront I ‘cheat’ a little and let a gap grow infront of me! Someone from Islington CC curses out loud - “mate close the gap”. I smile inwardly as he shoots past. I let other peeps burn matches while I chill at the back

Cliff Steels from Brixton Cycles hits the front and we all start chasing again. I’ve been constantly trading places near the back with Polly Burge, junior rider from Kent Velo - 20 mins into the race shes flagging....too many visits above your threshold will do that too ya! We say “sayonara” as Polly parks up on the drag! We’ve all been there! Damn “homeostasis” is a bitch!!...Annoyingly for this young woman admirably duking it out with blokes - we all slow down soon just after she’s dropped.

Cliff can’t help himself and clocks even more time dragging the peloton forward. Will he finally make some friends? Yes!