Scott Genius vs Mondraker

hypernova
hypernova Posts: 9
edited September 2018 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys,

Me again, I'm going to buy my first full sus, and I've narrowed down my choice to the Scott Genius 740 and the Mondraker Foxy, or possibly Mondraker Dune.

Looking for advice on which I should choose since I'm new to serious mountain biking. (Been riding road for a long time now.)

The Mondraker appeals to me because of the geometry. The spec appears to be significantly less good compared to the Scott (11 speed instead of 12 groupset wise, really not sure about the fork and shock) but it is also 200 pounds cheaper...

The Scott appeals because it has things like remote lockout actually on the bars, which is only a small thing but I can imagine it would be really quite useful. It also has 12 speed groupset and can fit both 27.5 and 29 er wheelsets.

Both have good reviews for their own reasons. A lot of reviews critisized the Mondraker for not being particularly good value for money. I think with the Scott I'm getting a lot of bike for each $ spent, but I've heard it said it's better to buy a really good frame and then spend money upgrading down the line. The Mondraker has a lot of scope for upgrades as components wear out, the Scott kind of doesn't and would probably be more expensive to repair should something get broken or fail.

What do you guys think?

Spec for the Scott here: https://www.scott-sports.com/us/en/prod ... =265263007

Spec for (a) Mondraker here: (cheapest option, 200 less than the Scott) http://www.mondraker.com/es/en/2019-foxy-275

Comments

• slc123
    slc123 Posts: 407
    The Scott is better value for money. Better suspension setup and better drivetrain. They are similar weights and pretty similar geometry. In terms of parts wearing out and needing to change them, how often will you be riding, what will you be doing? If you maintain it well I can't see that being a problem.