Mountain biking in the Alps with an XC race bike?

hypernova
hypernova Posts: 9
edited August 2018 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to mountain biking (or at least proper mountain biking with actual mountains) and I'm deliberating over which bike I should buy before I move to the alps for a year.

I was pretty set on an enduro bike or at least an enduro end of the spectrum trail bike (something like the Canyon Strive) but I kind of held off buying it for a while as I figured I probably wouldn't have any use for it in the UK after I return, because there isn't really anywhere in the UK to ride such a heavy duty machine, or at least I figured I would probably be looking for something a bit lighter weight after I return. Also I would like to do some XC racing when I'm back in the UK. (I currently race road crits, cyclocross and the occasional road race, so this is something I'm pretty keen on trying out to see if I can be any good at it.)

Obviously a 14 kg Canyon isn't really the right bike for this kind of stuff.

So I wanted to ask the forums if anyone has been to the alps (specifically places like Val D'Isere, Annecy) and taken an XC race bike? What was it like? Was it ridable or were you totally out of depth with short travel and race geometry? Most importantly: was it fun or just unpleasant and difficult?

Just need to make a decision about whether to buy a bike for a year and then probably loose over £1000 when selling it back in the UK, and then spend more buying an XC bike, or whether I should just buy the XC bike, spend a bit more now probably, but then keeping it to race the following year back in the UK.

If anyone would like to share their experiences that would be very helpful for me.

Cheers!

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Plenty of places to ride bigger bikes in the UK, but unless you are doing pure XC stuff in the Alps, you'll need more than an XC bike.
    I don't do smileys.