CTL vs FTP

gingerflash1975
gingerflash1975 Posts: 49
Hi
I'm new to power meters and have just read Joe Friel's book. He says that FTP testing should be done, ideally, about every four weeks, and power zones updated as FTP (hopefully) increases. that makes sense.
He also says that, ideally, one would see CTL continually rising, indicating improved fitness.
However, i am a little confused by this. CTL is based on TSS which is relative to FTP. The same work done will produce a higher TSS for a rider with a low FTP and vice versa.
I would therefore have thought that each time FTP is adjusted upwards, the TSS of an identical workout would be a little lower and therefore one would expect to see CTL rising for a period, then dropping each time FTP is adjusted, rising, then dropping etc.
Is that right?

Comments

• Read this:
    https://www.trainingpeaks.com/blog/the- ... e-manager/

When you say an identical workout, you are referring to identical absolute power outputs. However one person's recovery ride is another person's threshold effort. Clearly each results in different "stress".

The idea behind a training stress score is to provide a normalised indicator of training stress.

So to normalise the stress score, rather than it being a function of absolute intensity, it's a function of relative intensity. In this case intensity expressed relative to threshold power.

Likewise as an individual's fitness changes, so does the stress of any given absolute power output. IOW doing x minutes at y% of threshold results in the same stress score.

In general to improve fitness you need to keep changing the stimulus. If fitness has improved but you are not also increasing the power and or volume to provide further stimulus, then your fitness will stagnate.