Please help a HT man upgrade...

mush182
mush182 Posts: 2
edited August 2018 in MTB buying advice
Morning All,

I am after a little bit of advice please, I am currently looking to upgrade my trusty Whyte 529 Hardtail and upgrade to a full-sus so I can start to have a bit more fun on the slopes.

The Whyte has been an awesome bike for me, but it is lacking a few distinct things, I think I would prefer the smaller 27.5 wheel size for a little more agility, and as quick as it is downhill, the brakes often let it down and I have to be on them a lot more than I would like to be.

It's probably fair at this point to explain a little about me, I'm 6ft2, weigh around 15 stone (on a bad day) and really I am only just getting into this sport. I have probably been on no more than 12 full rides out, usually on red routes, as of yet, only tiny sections of black runs. I am a competent climber and have started to feel more confident on larger drop-offs, berms and corners. I know that I am new to the sport, but I am totally hooked and have a huge passion for getting as good as I can get.

So – hopefully that sets the scene about my build and ability…onto the bike chatter…

1. Do I go Enduro or Trail. If I could describe what I 'enjoy' doing now, it is certainly the downhill parts, but I also really enjoy the technical steep climbs and the reward feeling when you have climbed to the top of a mountain with my legs on fire. I am in no way shape or form a speed demon on the way back down, but that is what I want to become, so do I future proof myself and go for the longer travel? I don't want something that is going to be useless up-hill and requires carrying/ski-lifting to the top. My gut tells me to go for a trail bike, but part of me really also wants to be prepared for a potential Enduro event in a year or so after much more time in the saddle.