Was going from a £500 to a £1500 bike noticeable?

cowboyjon
cowboyjon Posts: 89
edited August 2018 in Road buying advice
6 week novice here looking for points of view.

Bought myself a flat bar triban 520 from decathlon and have been very happy with it so far. It has been a solid companion as I continue to learn the ropes of cycling for the first time in my adult life.

However, as I have gotten fitter and able to push on (and recover) more and more I definitely find myself cursing the lack of aerodynamics and the cursed wind using my 6'2" body like a sail against me!

I wasn't even aware the sportive/endurance class of bikes existed until recently and I'm thinking that's the route I'd like to go down. I have my eyes on buying a last season model of a giant defy advanced 3 or one of its competitors in the £1500 range and was hoping someone with experience of going from a £500 to a £1500 bike could tell me it was worth the price hike or not?

I seem to enjoy longer rides more and have gradually built up to my first 50 miler this past weekend so that's the kind of riding the bike will be used for most of the time. What I have noticed is I definitely value the comfort of 32c tyres over skinnier ones as some of the roads here in Central Scotland could rattle your teeth out and was wondering specifically if the more expensive sportive bikes would give an easier ride in general than my decathlon bike.

Thanks in advance - I'm interested to hear all points of view on this please!

Comments

• Moving to drop bars will make the biggest difference.

^ This. Moving from a Search £500 flat bar to a £1500 road bike, yes you will notice a difference!