Help with better gearing.

Rio_10
Rio_10 Posts: 12
edited July 2018 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I am new to cycling and need some much need advice. I currently have use 10 speed Ultegra 6700, I have checked the rear derailleur and it just has RD-6700 stamped on it. I currently have a 12-25 cassette and I am struggling on some climbs. What would be the best way to put a 11-32 or 11-34 cassette on my bike. I am reading so much conflicting information and some state to use MTB RD…its all too confusing for me.

Any help would be appreciated

Comments

• wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    What size chainrings do you have up front?
  • Rio_10
    50x34
  • Rio_10
    I think the RD-6700 can only support up to 28T
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    Change to an 11-28 cassette, 34-28 is a more than adequate low gear.
  • N0bodyOfTheGoat
    N0bodyOfTheGoat Posts: 5,842
    trek_dan wrote:
    Change to an 11-28 cassette, 34-28 is a more than adequate low gear for me

FTFY

Because the gearing we require depends upon our fitness/power and the gradients we will face, at different points through a ride or tour. It is entirely personal! :wink:

I love my cat 3/4 hill climbing, I've discovered this year I produce more power and climb them quicker using bigger gears (including using the 50T chainring for gradients up to ~10% if it is only a short section) at ~75-80rpm cadence, but if I've just "smashed" a combo of cat hills and the bits inbetween then at some point my legs will die and they will be begging me to use my 34-32 gear to get up anything with a slight incline... At least for a short recovery time.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217
    If your RD is a 6700-A SS or GS it will accept a 12-30T CS-4600 or CS-6700 10sp cassette. The RD-6700-A can be identified by a 30T stamped into the pulley wheel cage, upper guide wheel outside face.