Recovery

delaney09
delaney09 Posts: 19
I'm fairly new to this cycling game. I got my first road bike back in April. I'm currently cycling about 65 miles a week and my legs are done in. I stretch for 10 minutes after every ride and have a recovery drink after long rides. I am in good shape as I climb also. Currently sitting with about 11% bodyfat.

My question to you fine folk is how do you manage to ride over 100 -150 miles each week and still keep up your strength?

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Build up with time and listen to your body. Recovery is important. You can't expect to be smashing it when you've only been doing a sport for a few months.

How often do you ride and what distances and efforts ?
  • MishMash95
    MishMash95 Posts: 104
    I used to have the same issue, however after a year of riding, it got significantly better, to the point where I can happily do 10-12 hours of riding (approx 300km depending on terrain) a week and recover enough for high quality intervals. I think the first step is just to keep riding, and eventually your base fitness goes up enabling you to ride more, however its also very easy to make the mistake of getting into a rhythm of going too hard once you are at that point.

I started training in March 2017, and had really quick gains going from a position you are in now to being able to handle decent volume, long rides and tough workouts, but from around september to February of 2018, I spent months in this zone where I was just not really getting better and generally too fatigued to do hard workouts.

Long story short, it turns out that I was doing far too much riding at tempo, the sort of "happy hard" as they call it, where you feel like you are pushing, but its neither hard enough to yield improvement, nor light enough that you can ride a super high volume. You end up just tiring yourself out, without stressing your systems, equally making it impossible to do real hard intervals.