Nivolet or Sanetsch

manxshred
manxshred Posts: 295
edited July 2018 in Tour & expedition
I am heading to France in July for the Tour du Mont Blanc and am looking to do a warm up ride a few days before. I am arriving in Geneva on the Tuesday late afternoon, and am looking to do a ride on Wednesday morning. I’d like to do a good climb and descend to get my head into the descending mode, and was looking at climbs that are not normal options.

I’ve found two that are in the area:

Colle del Nivolet in Italy, or the Col du Sanetsch in Switzerland. Both look like good climbs, on quiet roads and spectacular terrain.

Anyone done these or have any views on which I should choose?

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,172
    I come from the area... the Nivolet is stunning, but there is a 3 km tunnel with an 8-9% gradient to get to Ceresole. Not pleasant on the way up, as you will be in it for 20 minutes or so. It can be avoided using the old road, but I have no knowledge of it being still rideable... it's closed to traffic and I suspect it is in bad conditions... that said, it might be rideable with care. You can of course drive to Ceresole and make it the base.... that still leaves you 1000 mt of vertical ascent, which combined with the altitude, it makes for a challenging climb. The reservoir lake in Ceresole is very nice and you can even swim to relax after the climb.

Bit of a drive from Geneva and the Mont Blanc tunnel toll is 40 quid
    left the forum March 2023
  • timmyotool
    timmyotool Posts: 172
    Slightly out of date now but the old road on the Nivolet is discussed in the comments here.
    http://inrng.com/2013/11/roads-ride-colle-del-nivolet/
  • manxshred
    This is more current: http://www.cycling-challenge.com/colle-del-nivolet-2/

I think the Nivolet looks good over the Sanetsch. I'll just have to go back another time for the Sanetsch.
  • timmyotool
    timmyotool Posts: 172
    Wow! Looks absolutely stunning from those pictures!