Want to upgrade my new cube stereo 140 race.

Aaron86N
Aaron86N Posts: 7
edited June 2018 in MTB buying advice
I have just started MTB, I have got the bike that I love but want to replace all the race face parts for Hope.
Then keep the race face for spare parts. Not sure if this is stupid as I’m a beginner.

Parts that I’m looking to replace:

Crankset
Carbon Bar
Stem
Complete Discs and brakes tech 3
Wheels and hubs

The idea in my head is Cube, hope, fox And Shimano XT cassette and derailleur only.

Would love to hear what people think about this and if there any other ideas that would be helpful.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    It's stupid.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • billycool
    billycool Posts: 833
    Welcome to the forum.

My first question for you would be, what do you want to achieve by doing this? Are you unhappy with what you have?

The bike has a decent spec and should be fine for a `beginner`. There is nothing wrong with upgrading stuff, some people do it for cosmetic purposes and others do it to make the bike `better`. Why Hope? Do you think it's better or just want some bling?

You could change all or nothing and I'm not sure if you'd notice the difference.

It all comes back to your reasoning for changing stuff. If you've got the money and just want to do it, then why not. If you think it will make your bike better or make you a better rider, I'd struggle to agree with that, purely due to your lack of experience.

You might be better off getting more experience and you might then decide to change other things or buy another bike.

I'm not saying don't do it, but it seems a bit indulgent to change over so much stuff when you're quite new to the sport.
    "Ride, crash, replace"
  • blokie13
    blokie13 Posts: 93