Check your cleats!

figbat
figbat Posts: 680
edited May 2018 in MTB general
I usually do a cursory once-over of the bike before riding; pinch the tyres, spin the crank, pull the brakes and so on to make sure it is rideable. I use SPD pedals and cleats on all my bikes (road and MTB) and have two pairs of shoes with the cleats on. One is a venerable old pair of Shimano MT-51 high-ankle shoes that I have been using for over 10 years with the same cleats, no issues ever. Another is some M065 which I use for summer use and on my road bikes (and have done for around 2 years).

The other day I leapt on my road bike, clipped in and started to pedal. My right foot felt a bit odd, making me think I hadn't engaged the cleat properly so I went to pull it out and try again. I quickly discovered that my right foot could not be removed from the pedal so I stopped to investigate. I took off the shoe (still attached to the pedal) and found that one of the two securing bolts had come undone, meaning the cleat was now free to rotate about the remaining bolt, meaning it wouldn't unclip. I tried unscrewing the whole shoe but the design of the sole and clearance to the crank meant this was a no-go. I was around 25 miles from home (I had been taken to a start point and dropped off for a ride home) with one shoe on. I decided to put my foot back in the errant shoe, figuring that it was going to stay attached to the pedal regardless and then set off for my planned ride home, with the very prominent thought to always unclip the left foot if I had to stop. This worked fine - I made it home unscathed and actually the bad pedal didn't really cause any issues along the way (aside from one forgetful out-of-the-seat climb where my foot rotated and I caught the crank arm with my heel on the down-stroke, but I stayed on).