Should I attempt my first chaingang? Too slow?

dannyjames1
dannyjames1 Posts: 44
edited April 2018 in Road general
I feel like this is a bit of a daft question maybe, but I'm going to ask. For a while I've wanted to get involved on a chaingang. I've got some experience with group riding and know the technique but I just don't want to turn up only to drop off the back! I'm not exactly slow on the bike and can push myself....

My usual solo ride is about 50 miles with 2400ft elevation... 3 climbs of about 550ft each and a bit of rolling countryside which I rarely finish averaging less than 18 mph overall with the usual little bit of a headwind on the journey back home and a couple of stops for traffic.

Should I go for it? Will I struggle? Only one way to find out?

Comments

• mamil314
    mamil314 Posts: 1,103
    Your answer might be joining a club. Many of them will teach beginners to do group riding, just do some investigating in your area.
  • DeVlaeminck
    DeVlaeminck Posts: 8,718
    Just get out and try, would being dropped really be so bad? Assuming your local chain gang is a fast group who take no prisoners well I'm sure you wont be the first to get dropped.
    [Castle Donington Ladies FC - going up in '22]
  • redvision
    redvision Posts: 2,958
    Depending on the numbers there may be different groups (according to rider level).
    Even if only 1 group go along and try. It's good experience of riding at pace in a group.

And if you get dropped you get dropped. Nothing to be ashamed of or worried about. It's just part of riding a bike in a group.
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,168
    For a while I've wanted to get involved on a chaingang.

I can assure you it's not THAT glamorous

The-Warriors-Cast.jpg
    left the forum March 2023
  • For a while I've wanted to get involved on a chaingang.

The-Warriors-Cast.jpg

One of my all time favourite films ugo.
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    just do it. it'll be fine.