Poor Bike Fit, Advice Required

Livewire
Livewire Posts: 91
Hello,

I purchased a Giant road bike back in 2016, it has a ISP (integrated seat post) upon collection of the bike from the Giant store I was given a full bike fit and the seat post was cut to size.

I have been riding the bike for the last 18 months and in that time I have suffered from a painful right hip (which went away over the winter when I was off the bike (I ride mountain bike in the winter) I have recently started riding my road bike again. About 20 miles into each ride I have been getting a twinge on the outside of the back of my knee (along the lateral hamstring tendon) the pain would get worse until I had to limp the bike home by peddling with my right leg alone. The pain then goes away around 48 hours later, this has happened the last 4 rides I have done.

Safe to say I have been trying to get to the bottom of the problem, read up and found out checking my bike fit would be a good place to start. Sat myself on the bike and set pedal at 6 o'clock, to my surprise my heel was more than an inch away from the pedal! :shock: so I got on my other half's spin bike and set the saddle hight so my heel was sat on the pedal at the 6 o'clock position. Clipped in and had a pedal, straight away this felt a lot more natural and I was able to sustain a higher power output for longer than usual.

I am weary that my measurements may be a bit out and as my bike has an ISP and I don't want to rush into things and cut the post. So I have booked myself in with a reputable bike shop for a second bike fit in 2 weeks time.

My question is, would it be likely that the bike fit at the Giant store was that far out? and if so would I be within my rights to approach the Giant store and politely request them to refund me the cost of the new bike fit? (long shot I know)

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    It's possible.