Cyclocross Vs Hybrid

Stephen_J
Stephen_J Posts: 5
edited April 2018 in Commuting general
Looking for some advice please. I'm a newbie, having last been on a bike when I was 15 and am pretty clueless. I'm looking to get a bike to commute into work a couple of days a week, it's about 10 miles each way. I'm torn between a Hybrid and a Cyclocross and was hoping for some advice please. My thoughts behind the Hybrid was that it'd perhaps be more comfortable, where the Cyclocross would get me there quicker.

The bikes I'm looking at are:

Cyclocross

Pinnacle Arkose 2 2018 - https://www.evanscycles.com/pinnacle-ar ... e-EV306245

Boardman CX Team - http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/c ... 5cm-frames

Hybrid

Boardman Hybrid Bike Pro - http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/h ... 4cm-frames

Specialized Crosstrail - https://www.evanscycles.com/specialized ... e-EV306284

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated

Comments

• greenamex2
    greenamex2 Posts: 272
    I have two bikes. Yep, a hybrid (Merida Crossway XT) and a cross bike (Trek Crockett).

The hybrid is about 3.5Kg heavier as standard than the CX. It is generally about 3-4 minutes slower over a 13 mile commute.

The route is tow path, cycle path, road and forest track.

The hybrid is fun for one or two days, but always happy to get back on the CX.

The hybrid is slightly more comfortable (longest trip in a day is a 56 mile Sportive with my daughter) but then you are on it for longer.

If I had to choose one it would be the CX. The hybrid is mostly reserved for family rides where speed isn't an issue.