Mavic ust

Andymaxy
Andymaxy Posts: 197
edited April 2018 in Workshop
Mavic road ust.
Sounds like a good idea, tubeless magic.
Until now, here I am, trying to take the tube out of the tire so I can convert it to tubeless only to realize the tire is impossible to take off.
I can't take it off not because the they are tight, but rather the tire beads cannot be unhooked from the wheel.
This is a good thing when you flat, it means the tires won't roll off the rim, but now it's a real struggle.

After letting go of the air in both tires. I tried to take the tires off. I managed to take one bead off the wheel in the front, in the rear I have trouble removing both beads, it seems that the rim and bead are hooked to each other really tight.

Any suggestions?

This is my first time running into a problem like this, usually clincher tires let go of the rim as soon as the air is out.

Comments

• Andymaxy
    Is it safe to use a bit of WD-40
  • Have you tried this, i.e. pushing in? If so, then next I would put a wood block on the sidewall and use a rubber mallet to knock it in. I wouldn't use wd-40. Maybe someone else have better idea. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GU4Oto-i5jc
  • lincolndave
    lincolndave Posts: 9,441
    I would say the sealant that was in the tyre as stuck tyre wall to the rims, the side wall should push to the centre of the rims with a bit of force , I can normally do mine with using both my thumbs
  • Vino'sGhost
    Vino'sGhost Posts: 4,129
    Andymaxy wrote:
    Mavic road ust.
    Until now, here I am, trying to take the tube out of the tire so I can convert it to tubeless only to realize the tire is impossible to take off.
    I can't take it off not because the they are tight, but rather the tire beads cannot be unhooked from the wheel.
    This is a good thing when you flat, it means the tires won't roll off the rim, but now it's a real struggle.