Left foot going numb after 45mins

I'm quite perplexed with an issue I've just developed in the last couple of weeks. I've been riding for 4 years now and I'm a strong cyclist. I've covered over 6000 XC miles on my current hardtail and have had it set up the same way for over 2 years.

I've very recently started developing foot numbness in my left foot about 45 mins or an hour into riding. I'm using the same pedals I've always used, same saddle and it doesn't matter which of my shoes I use the issue is happening conisitantly regardless of footware.

Only thing that's happened is a couple of weeks ago I feel off trying to get out of a rut and slid in the mud. It was a very low speed fall, but I landed on the side of my left knee. I was sore initially on the side of my knee for that day, but by the next day I felt normal. However I do think that ever since then I have been noticing this 'pins and needles' feeling which starts in my toes and ball of my left foot. If I cycle through it - it just spreads to my lower shin and my foot feels completely dead.

Like I say I've been riding my hardtail for long while now and been properly into cycling again for the last 4 years, I spend roughly 7 hours a week on a bike. I don't experince the problems on my Hybrid when commuting, but I think that's just because I'm only cycling for 30 mins at a time then.

I'm feeling quite concerned and frustrated by this as its starting to ruin my pleasure rides. Does it sound like I have an injury from my fall? I'm amazed if such a low speed and realativly un painful accident could cause such problems now about 2.5 weeks on.

My shoes are just skate type shoes and trainers. I know they aren't MTB/cycling specific, but for the last 4 years I've never had a problem.

Sorry for the long post. Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions? Perhaps I should see a sports physio?

Comments