Cramping

Zebeddy
Zebeddy Posts: 2
Hi All

I'm relatively new to Sportive Cycling and am having a real issue with cramping. It is ruining sportive and longer training sessions.
Nearly always between 45-50 miles I start to cramp and then that's it. Having said that, I do have a history of getting mild cramps just when sitting watching TV etc.

I have tried upping my fluid intake and have increased my food intake whilst riding.
I used to grind quite a lot but now try to sit at around 90rpm in order to reduce leg fatigue.

I have started stretching more to see if I can loosen my muscles off too.

Still struggling.

Anyone have any ideas or things they have done themselves to help reduce this?

Thank you to anyone who can help

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Fluid intake - or lack of it (delete as appropriate) may or may not have anything to do with it. As a new cyclist, it's quite likely that you simply do not have the muscular endurance/fitness to do those rides at whatever pace you are doing them at.
  • Thigh_burn
    Thigh_burn Posts: 489
    I was the same. New to riding and awful cramps.

The main things I've found that helped are fluids and flexibility.

Fluids on the day before the ride. Make sure you're well hydrated going into it. And by fluids I mean water. On the day, keep drinking regularly through the ride. Make sure you're drinking electrolytes in your water.

Flexibility, stretch more, before and after rides. For some reason I'm not sure about, there are some cyclists who dismiss the need to stretch and be flexible. I can't really see why it's controversial. You might also want to see a sports masseur who can knead out the knots you've got.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Alternatively, just get fitter. The only time I've ever cramped is when I've been asking my muscles to ride longer/harder than they have been used to.
  • VamP
    VamP Posts: 674