BTWIN TRIBAN 500 First Road Bike

TomAmateur
TomAmateur Posts: 5
edited March 2018 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to cycling (hence the username lol).

I'm hoping somebody might be able to give me an honest review of the B'TWIN Triban 500, or somebody more knowledgeable than myself will be able to let me know if I'm making the correct decision in going for the Triban 500 for my first road bike. Also would there be any tips on parts I should immediately upgrade?

https://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-500- ... 79069.html

I hope this gets a few replies!

Thanks,
Tom

Comments

• arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    TomAmateur wrote:
    Hi,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to cycling (hence the username lol).

I'm hoping somebody might be able to give me an honest review of the B'TWIN Triban 500, or somebody more knowledgeable than myself will be able to let me know if I'm making the correct decision in going for the Triban 500 for my first road bike. Also would there be any tips on parts I should immediately upgrade?

https://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-500- ... 79069.html

I hope this gets a few replies!

Thanks,
    Tom

Yup - just press the trigger and go for it. The Triban 500 rates highly in the budget bike listings and you'd struggle to better it at the price. Decathlon also get good reviews for their after-sales service. If you have a branch within easy reach just mosey along and have a test ride if you want to be absolutely sure.

Only negative in the minds of some purists on this forum is that it has a triple chainset which is viewed as being a bit "last year" Nevertheless as a beginner in the road bike world you will probably be thankful of that triple chainset until you have built up fitness and experience
  • bobones
    bobones Posts: 1,215