Adjusting front derailleur

TheEveryman
TheEveryman Posts: 28
edited February 2018 in Workshop
I need an idiots guide for this, total newbie to bike repair and maintenance.

I have 3 front rings, videos online always show 2 and they whizz through a bit quick.

Comments

• photonic69
    photonic69 Posts: 2,410
    This:
    https://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-he ... -section-2

Set derailleur up for the big ring then trim tension to suit the other two along with the limit screws

Sometimes. Maybe. Possibly.

• I took it to my local bike shop and he fixed it, installed new cable for the front derailleur aswell all for just £5.00 fitted.

I have another problem now, I have 3 front chain rings. I can go from the small ring to the middle ring to the big ring as normal but when coming back down from the big ring it jumps directly to the small ring, skipping the middle ring. But then it climbs back up again as normal.

Bike shop man says it's the shifter inside the handlebars but how does it hold the middle ring only when coming from the small ring but not when coming down from the big ring ? Something obviously holds that gear.

Hope that makes sense.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Sounds like he hasn't fixed it then.

The shifter is a ratchet inside (not sure what you mean by inside the handlebars?)

If it works one way it should work the other.

Sounds like still needs indexing properly.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • I'm fairly new to cycling and this is the first time I've had to get a bit technical, inside the handlebars I just meant the ratchet inside the handlebars/shifters.

Why would it find the middle ring OK on the way up but not on the way down ? I wish I could see inside the shifters because I don't understand how it works in there.