1 x 9 options

02gf74
02gf74 Posts: 1,168
edited February 2018 in MTB workshop & tech
Looking to ditch the front mech as it's a mud trap.

Have 3 x 9 42/32/22 11-32 at the moment so to get a nearly same low gear, I can run only the middle ring and get a 11-40 9 speed cassette.

But are there narrow, wide 32 t chainrings that fit 3 chainring crank?

Rear mech is sram but is not clutch type, what are my options there?

Comments

• ed1973
    ed1973 Posts: 284
    I’m not an expert here but I did the same conversion , but 1x10 I had to check that my crank was what’s called 104bcd I think it’s the distance between 2 opposing bolts on crank (check YouTube out for this) then just bought a 104bcd narrow wide 32t chain ring and placed it where my middle ring used to be. I got a goat link to pull my rear mech back so it would engage onto my 42t rear ring. I also had to get some washers for my front chainring so the chain line was lined up with my middle cog at the back.
    YouTube was a big help in working out what I needed for the job.
    Hope this helps
  • larkim
    larkim Posts: 2,474
    Will probably depend on your crank, but I fitted a NW 32T to the middle of a triple (mine was a 96BCD one) and I don't *think* I needed new bolts or spacers, and don't have a bashring installed. I don't have a record of buying any anyway. I used a WorksComponents one.
    2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)
    2011 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (son #4s)
    2013 Decathlon Triban 3 (red) (mine)
    2019 Hoy Bonaly 26" Disc (son #2s)
    2018 Voodoo Bizango (mine)
    2018 Voodoo Maji (wife's)
  • 02gf74
    OK thanks. It is xt crank m760 104mm bcd.... Just as well as got a n/wide 32t chainring heading my way from Taiwan. Also heading is a 11-40 9 spd cassette, £17 so not a big outlay if it doesn't work out.

Only concern is rear mech, I may need a drop out spacer (got one somewhere) to move mech out to clear the 40t sprocket.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812