What Pedals ?

rokt
rokt Posts: 493
edited February 2018 in Cyclocross
I’m currently looking for some pedals and would be interested to know what everyone’s using for cyclocross and or gravel.

Comments

• fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    shimano pd m520s

£22 a pair double sided and shed mud like no other .... although a lot of people I ride with use eggbeaters .. apparently they are better, but I never have issues with the 520s so in no hurry to change
  • tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    SPD - almost everyone has them. Cheap. Nightmare in snow.
    Time ATAC - less prone to clogging. Less cheap. Nightmare in snow
    You're lucky to encounter snow once a season, so it may not be a factor.
    Eggbeater - reputedly don't have the snow issue. Reportedly less robust/reliable. I have no direct experience of either, but have heard both comments direct from (different) users.

I race with ATAC. Next time I have a snowy race that I care about, I may consider clips & straps on the pit bike (mental note to check they don't cause me problems on dismounts!)
    Pannier, 120rpm.
  • animal72
    animal72 Posts: 251
    I use XTR SPDs.
    The Mrs uses Egg Beaters.

I've had one set of SPDs die on me in years of MTB, so was the obvious choice for my Grave, bike.

Tried SPD with the Mrs and she didn't like the clip-out consistency in mud/snow. She much prefers the Egg Beaters.
    Condor Super Acciaio, Record, Deda, Pacentis.
    Curtis 853 Handbuilt MTB, XTR, DT Swiss and lots of Hope.
    Genesis Datum Gravel Bike, Pacentis (again).
    Genesis Equilibrium Disc, 105 & H-Plus-Son.

Mostly Steel.
  • kentphil
    kentphil Posts: 479
    Shimano spd m540, great pedal. Reliable and lasts for years.
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR
  • VamP
    VamP Posts: 674
    TGOTB wrote:
    SPD - almost everyone has them. Cheap. Nightmare in snow.