keeping hens in the garden

Pep
Pep Posts: 501
edited February 2018 in The cake stop
We are buying a house with a very big garden, semi-urban area.
I am thinking to keep our own hens in the garden (in their own small cheap-and-cheerful house), to get fresh eggs and to get fun. My 8yr-old child is already very excited abut the idea.
I understand there will be some work, cleaning, bla bla, whatever, ...
Not sure how happy the neighbours will be, perhaps I can occasionally bribe them with a few fresh eggs.

You guys have any experience with this kind of thing...?

Comments

• Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    I have some experience. Don't be tempted to breed your own chicks. That involves owning a cockerel - he'll attack you and the neighbours will complain about the noise he makes.

Hens are pretty straightforward as long as you're prepared against foxes.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/
    Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143173475@N05/
  • Pep
    Ben6899 wrote:
    Don't be tempted to breed your own chicks. That involves owning a cockerel -
    I have no intention to breed them, exactly for the extra mess.
    If/when they pass away I'll get some new ones, I guess hens are ridicolously cheap to buy.
  • shortfall
    shortfall Posts: 3,288
    Chicken runs tend to attract rats and mice in my experience. That said there's much fun to be had in rearing poultry and the kids will learn a lot from it, not mention that fresh free range eggs are a wonderful thing!
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 27,484
    We've got a couple of rabbits rather than hens, but the Eglu hutch and run is pretty fox resistant.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • Pep
    Shortfall wrote:
    Chicken runs tend to attract rats and mice in my experience.