Aaaaargh. Upgrades!!

kieran240885
kieran240885 Posts: 36
edited January 2018 in Workshop
Hey, really simple one this. As stated before, I’m fairly new to this. I have a 2017 carrera virtuoso. Very happy with it but looking to upgrade a few components. Two things: firstly is it worth upgrading anything or just buying a better bike? Secondly, if it is worth spending a little on upgrades where would you start.
Been looking at lighter stems, seat posts etc. Obvs wheels are out cos they’re so expensive.
Thanks for helping a noob.

Comments

• davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    Wheels are generally the best upgrade to *start* with.

However, you said you're very happy with it. What about it do you want to improve?

Honestly it's not a great spec bike. I'd leave it as-is over winter and save up for something shiny if it was my money.
    Sometimes parts break. Sometimes you crash. Sometimes it’s your fault.
  • Yeah that’s kinda what I’ve been thinking.

https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/tcr-advanced-1-2018

Until then I was just thinking of tarting it up really. Like I said new stem, new seat post, that sort of thing. Maybe just to even “make it mine” rather than be stock. Maybe even get the (hefty) weight down a little.
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    You're not going to make any noticeable difference with stems and seatpost - it's just lost money.

I'd look at better tyres first gp4000s are my faves.

The bike is fine but you'll not turn it into a pro tour bike.

Change stuff if it breaks but otherwise save up for an upgrade.

It's not about the bike though - it's the heart lungs and legs.
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Agree. Tyres are best place to start.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach