Extra-curricular sports

Plumby Baby
Plumby Baby Posts: 82
edited January 2018 in Commuting chat
My commute is a fairly moderate 20 mile round trip with lovely hills. While I consider myself 'bike fit' I didn't realise how unfit I was in the other muscle groups until I started playing 5 a side footy.

Played last night and now my lower back has about as much flex as a brass rod.

So what other sports do folk engage in off the bike?

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,121
    Running.

A few of us used to go bouldering after work, but haven't been for a while (people injured/not around).
  • mtb-idle
    mtb-idle Posts: 2,179
    I avoid footy at all costs now. An hour five a side will ruin me for cycling for a week.

Ermmm....nope, cycling that's about it for me.

Does mountain biking count? I'm doing it less and less these days but i still enjoy a minimum week's lift-assisted MTB in the French alps once a year. That works different muscle groups.
    FCN = 4
  • Tennis weekly, trampolining occasionally, windsurfing on a forecast, sailing, the odd run, lots of walking.

Doing just one sport can make you a bit one-dimensional and frankly, boring.
  • davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    Yoga (back injury, it's necessary!).

Press ups. Chin ups. Raising a 568g mass (which decreases over time) repeatedly.
    Sometimes parts break. Sometimes you crash. Sometimes it’s your fault.
  • I play 5-a-side, not every week but 2-3 times a month as work and family permits. After a couple of weeks off it does kill you, if going regularly not so bad.

I also do quite a bit of dinghy sailing through March to September
    GET WHEEZY - WALNUT LUNG RACING TEAM™
  • Yoga. That's something I'm interested in for core strength/suppleness. Thought I'd try one of those YouTube classes so I could fit it in around seeing my children etc but never took 'the plunge'.