New to smart trainers

Hi

I'm new to the smart trainer world and was hoping for some opinions. I've always been a mountain bike person but lately I haven't managed to get out and about because of the weather, darker evenings etc so looking to bring it into the home instead

I'm on a bit of a budget at the moment because this is new, once I get into it and start to get into a routine I might throw some more money at it but for now i'm looking at around £200-250

I think i've narrowed it down to a Tacx Flow Smart for £200 or a Bkool Smart Go for £250
I was thinking of giving the Bkool simulator app a go because of the different map options this one has - at the moment i'm not looking to join groups but that isn't to say I might want to move over to Zwift in the future!

What are your thoughts on these two trainers and which would be the better option (unless there is another within that budget)

Comments

• redjeepǃ
    redjeepǃ Posts: 531
    Hi swimmingfish.

I thought that I'd reply as nobody else has. I also have a BKool trainer which i got for Christmas about 5 years ago and generally am very happy with it. I use it a lot.

I'm a bit less happy with the app, which I've use on and off since I got the trainer. Before that I had a basic Tacx trainer and a set of Tacx rollers (both of which I still have).

Most of the problems that I've had with it have been connectivity and it'd regularly drop out numerous times during a session which was pretty annoying. However up until a few months ago the best broadband connectivity that I could get was around 1 MBps.....

I've now got wireless broadband that gives me a round 20 MBps and so have started to use their app again. I've also added a repeater in my shed so between the two don't get the drop outs any more.

However I still use the Sufferfest much more often than the BKool app, and one of the advantages is that you can download the sessions. I then tend to use the broadband to watch Sky or a film etc.