Excruciating Saddle Pain

mdsfx
mdsfx Posts: 13
edited February 2018 in Road beginners
I started riding road/TT bikes last year for the first time and I have yet to become used to my saddle. I've been fitted to my TT bike by a reputable Triathlon bike shop and they did a fine job (everything else feels great!), but my ass hurts like hell after 15-20 miles to the point that I have to stop. It's brutal.

The used bike I purchased (used Orbea Ordu) came with a Terry saddle, but I switched over to an ISM PN1.0 because the Terry felt too firm. I had also tried the PR1.0 at the shop, but thought it was too wide because my inner thighs are scraping it a bit. I'm thinking though that the PN1.0 saddle I have is actually TOO narrow and that my weight is on too much of soft tissue causing the pain. I've cycled with both padded cycling shorts and no padding at all with no luck.

I have another ISM saddle on the way to try only because I found a good deal, but I feel like this is keeping me from putting in miles and don't know what to do. Any advice?

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Weird saddles. Try a normal one.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • mdsfx
    cooldad wrote:
    Weird saddles. Try a normal one.
    My first saddle, the Terry FLX, was relatively normal, but I didn't like the pressure at the center when sitting on the nose, hence my change to the split saddles.
  • jermas
    jermas Posts: 484
    It can take time to adapt- due to shifting all your weight onto your sit bones. The ISM saddle should be set slightly lower than a traditional saddle which could make it more comfy. Also make sure it's far enough back.
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    Sounds like you haven't done a sit bones test, that's the first thing to do if you think your saddle is not right.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • zefs
    zefs Posts: 484