Looking after your 'chap'.

octane.music
octane.music Posts: 12
edited December 2017 in Road general
Hi all!

I'm relatively new to cycling, having taken it up with any seriousness since the end of October. I've been lucky to date somehow, the majority of my outdoor weekend rides have been in the dry. But, this morning I took it upon myself to go for a ride up Shap. The weather here (village 5 miles south of Kendal) was pretty calm, so I thought it was a good idea, but the higher I got, the worse the weather got resulting in strong winds and stinging rain. The wind was actually strong enough to bring me to a dead halt whilst pedalling down the steep bit, it was idiotic TBF.

Now a little further down, I was wet from the waist down (FDX bib leggings) resulting in some rubbing downstairs. This quickly became discomfort then again quickly into a bit of pain. I had to stop a couple of times to rearrange.

Are there any tips (bar vaseline) or products out there to alleviate this? Not had a problem until today, I guess the dampness had made it worse, but I really don't fancy having a sore tummy sausage every time it's wet, especially up here as it's not exactly known for being like California, weather-wise!

Scott

BTW - Merry Christmas all!

Comments

• Chamois creme. Many have aloe vera in them
  • pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    Chamois creme. Many have aloe vera in them
    Not sure you are supposed to put chamois crime actually on your old chap... :wink:

PP
  • Pilot Pete wrote:
    Not sure you are supposed to put chamois crime actually on your old chap... :wink:

PP

You can bathe your entire nether regions in it if needed. It stops chafing and sweat rashes etc. It’s perfectly safe and in this case it will help
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Paraffin.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol: