26" Tyres for BPW

Cliveyp
Cliveyp Posts: 173
edited November 2017 in MTB general
Hey all. I've recently committed myself to a trip to Bike Park Wales in January.....i'm quite looking forward to it!

Having a severe lack of experience in the off-road department (i'm generally a road rider but am desperate to find excuses to do more off-road), i'm guaranteed to be sticking myself to blue runs on my aging Cube Ltd hardtail and mastering as much as I can. Trouble is, with it's lack of use so far, the Cube is still sat on it's original Schwalbe Rapid Rob tyres which from experience aren't the grippiest on loose surfaces or claggy mud - or anything bar towpaths from what i've found!

I've been recommended the investment of some new rubber, probably looking towards Maxxis HRII or DHF/DHR2. Being a complete novice in this, i'd like to at least know that I have some grip under my wheels, so what can you recommend?
2015 Ridley Fenix 105
2012 Cube Ltd SL
2011 Trek 1.2 - Sold
2001 Giant Boulder - Sold

Comments

• doomanic
    doomanic Posts: 238
    Schwalbe Magic Mary front and rear.
  • Angus Young
    Angus Young Posts: 3,063
    Cliveyp wrote:
    the Cube is still sat on it's original Schwalbe Rapid Rob tyres which from experience aren't the grippiest on loose surfaces or claggy mud

Not too many loose surfaces and no claggy mud on the blues at BPW.
    All the gear, no idea and loving the smell of jealousy in the morning.
    Kona Process 134 viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12994607
  • Cliveyp
    Cliveyp wrote:
    the Cube is still sat on it's original Schwalbe Rapid Rob tyres which from experience aren't the grippiest on loose surfaces or claggy mud

Well no, but the Robs are pathetic on anything beyond grass or a towpath from what I’ve felt so far, so I’d prefer to start the day knowing that I’ve got something worthwhile under me - and also something that gives me a bit more confidence to use it more often anyway!
    2015 Ridley Fenix 105
    2012 Cube Ltd SL