Potentially dumb question about rear hubs

Richrd2205
Richrd2205 Posts: 1,267
edited November 2017 in Workshop
So, I am getting a Planet X Kaffenback 2 frameset to build into a winter commuter. I am fine with most of the build stuff, but have really confused with rear hubs. (I am needing to sort out getting wheels built because I am going to be using a dynamo hub on the front).
So the frame has a 135 OLD and is set up for disc brakes. So an MTB rear hub should work fine. Except the freehub needs to take a road cassette (I am wanting to build it up around 105). SJS website tells me that the Shimano MTB hubs don't take a road cassette.
So, a few questions. Apologies if these are really basic. I'm not very good with wheels stuff. (&, yes, I could simply ask my LBS to build up some suitable wheels, but the point of building up is to find out what I don't know and then to find the answers!)
1. How can I make a rear MTB hub work (does it just need a new freehub, or would I need an MTB cassette, and would this need a different rear mech)?
2. Outwith the Shimano options, are there any other reasonably priced hubs that might work? Much as I like the Hope hub on my best bike, I don't mind not spending £100+ on a rear hub!)

Thanks in advance

Comments

• If I understand your question,(probably not) then the cassette bodies are the same and Shimano MTB cassettes and Road cassettes are interchangeable.
  • Richrd2205
    Thanks for getting back so quickly. That was my original understanding, but when I looked at this page, it says explicitly that the Deore XT cassette won't take an 11 speed road cassette:
    https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/hubs-casset ... hub-black/
    Hence the confusion...
    (& you understood fine, esp given the inexact question... :-) )
  • Hmm, odd. I cannot think why. I would ask. Maybe they mean it won't fit in a road frame being a different axle length.
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,252