Best intervals for flat-like terrain for practicing hill-climbing ability?

rowanharley
rowanharley Posts: 76
edited November 2017 in Training, fitness and health
Looking for some hard intervals to improve my climbing ability. I've no way of measuring my watts or heart rate or even speed at the moment (Lost my speedometer during a race) so it'd have to be using timing. I'm only new to intervals but I'd rather be doing them than cycling 28km/h over 40k with the group

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Just ride at threshold for whatever duration of hill climb you are trying to simulate. Perhaps with some 1min over/under intervals thrown in...
  • zefs
    zefs Posts: 484
    edited November 2017
    5 mins x 4 sets on a climb, rest for 5 mins each time going back down. Aim for that burning feeling on the legs, you can also do half the sets on low and the other half high cadence.
    It should feel as a hard training in the end and you can increase sets or duration over time.
  • maryka
    maryka Posts: 748
    You can't, really. In my experience, the inertia/gravity/out-of-the-saddle characteristics of climbing can't really be found on the flat. Not even with a headwind. The turbo is maybe the best way to replicate those things but even then it's not the same.

However you can work on whatever component of fitness represents the hills you want to climb well. So if they are short sharp 1 min efforts, do 1 min repeat. Climbs of 5 to 8 minutes, do repeats of that length with recovery. Alpine climbs, do 20-60 min threshold or just below threshold training. Then when you do hit the climbs you will have that fitness.
  • zefs wrote:
    5 mins x 4 sets on a climb, rest for 5 mins each time going back down.

If you read the question "Best intervals for flat-like terrain for practicing hill-climbing ability?"

You may want to rethink your advise
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • put it in 54x11 and let the tyres down.