Commuting newbie

alexthepenguin
alexthepenguin Posts: 8
edited October 2017 in Commuting general
TL:DR: I’m a commuting newbie. Looking for recommendation for bikes (I have shortlisted a few below) and also on whether I should get a bike with drop or flat or bullhorn handlebars.

Longer version:
Hi all – I’m new to this forum although I’ve been reading the posts here for the last month or so (and the sticky post on information for beginners). I’m looking for some advice for which bike to get for commuting.

I live in East London and work in Central London. I have done a few trial cycling routes in the weekend using a Boris bike. My commute is about 5-6 miles each way depending on if I take CS2 or CS3. So it will be mainly flat and on the road. As background I haven’t cycled for almost 10 years. However last time I cycled I did a round-the-island trip in Taiwan and I used to cycle 2-3 miles to university.

From my research I believe either hybrid or cyclecross seems to be the best for this purpose and I’m indifferent to either type (and open to suggestion for other types). I don’t think I should get a road bike as I won’t count myself as a serious biker and the most I would do is to cycle to do some shopping in the weekend.

I have a few criteria
1. Comfort/safety – this is my main criterion. I don’t think I will be cycling aggressively and I prefer a longer but quieter router with fewer cars rather than the shortest route with a lot of cars (Which probably will be the A13 in my case!).
2. Disc brake – I would like disc brakes ideally
3. Mudguard – this is a must. My understanding is that mudguards might not be fitted to all bikes
4. No fixed-gear – I do not want a fixed gear bike
5. Ideally it would have a rack that will enable me to attach a pannier (I have to wear suit to work so will need to bring my suit in) – although this is desired and not a must. The worst case scenario I could put it in my backpack or take the tube to work one day a week.