Fitting guards-sks chromoplastics

timbo_tim
timbo_tim Posts: 199
edited December 2017 in Workshop
Hi

A very specific question, but wondering if anyone can assist in fitting guards to my Allez. The 2018 model comes with eyelets so I thought everything would be okay, especially looking at this video which clearly shows it fitted with a front guard.

http://www.cyclingweekly.com/videos/cycling-tech/specialized-allez-elite

However, I had trouble getting clearance on the front so I studied the video in some detail. Whilst they got the guards on for static pictures, the moving bits are all sans front guard. If you (can be bothered to) scroll to 2:06 ish, there appears to be very little clearance under the caliper.

TL;DR-has anyone fitted guards to a new Allez, or anyone have advice to get what I think is some extra clearance-do I need a long drop caliper for the front??

Thanks!
Tim

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Which brake calipers do you have?

My 2011 Allez doesn't have room for proper guards - I've got the Crud RR II guards that are just about ready for the bin - the rubbing on the rear has worn it thin...

With the stock brakes there was only just enough room fo the front guard - once I swapped out for 105 calipers there was a bit more room (and better braking)
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Long drop caliper will not give you any more clearance than you already have. Looking at that vid, there clearly isn't the room to fit 'usable' guards - even in the stills you can see the front fender is running very low under the fork crown (and is probably rubbing, which is why they took it off for the riding). Crudguards might be your only option - they are pretty good anyway...
  • timbo_tim