First bike for teenage son

shearclass
shearclass Posts: 5
edited August 2017 in MTB beginners
Hi everyone

Newbie here.

I am wanting to get my son a bike for his 13th birthday. He is quite tall and I think will manage a 16/17 inch no bother. His old bike, that is way too small for him, had been in the shed dormant for about a year. Over the last couple of months however it has been resurrected and he has used it quite a lot.

I am a bike novice. I was interested in bikes as a teenager but that was 17 ish years ago years ago. I had some form of Giant that I loved which lasted me for years.

I imagine he will use it for general riding around the streets etc with his mates, as well as some light off roading, and perhaps he will do some rides with me if I get a bike for myself.

I realise Halfords probably won't have a good name of this forum, but I have found this bike, which my son likes the look of (at that age, imagine is probably more important than actual substance!), and I was wondering if people could confirm whether it was a reasonable bike for the price:

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... bike-black

I have read a few posts and I have seen the recommendations for a second hand bike when looking at such lowly price bands, but given my son is, well, a child, he will appreciate something new and shiny with an inferior spec than something used.

If anyone has any other alternatives, I am happy to be informed of them. I would consider paying up to £350 (though his mam won't be happy...) if you could convince me another bike was significantly better than the one in the link.

Thanks for reading.

Neale

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Better forks, better brakes, better gearing. Just about in budget.

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... ntain-bike
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools