Giant FS upgrades

adowling92
adowling92 Posts: 225
edited July 2017 in MTB general
Looking for advice on what cheap and cheerful upgrades to go for my Giant FS mtb?
I want to customise it a little and make components better.

any suggestions?

20170512_153412_zpsoelopkgt.jpg
Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride. --John F. Kennedy

Comments

• jamski
    jamski Posts: 737
    Anything you don't like about the bike or that isn't working for you? What sort of riding are you doing, and what's your budget?
    Daddy, Husband, Designer, Biker, Gamer, Geek
    Bird Aeris 120 | Boardman Team 650b | Boardman Pro FS | Calibre Two.two
  • adowling92
    jamski wrote:
    Anything you don't like about the bike or that isn't working for you? What sort of riding are you doing, and what's your budget?

I've always had a hardtail mtb, so im new to FS (apart from when i had an Apollo when i was a kid :P).
    I was thinking maybe a shorter stem, new handlebars and lockable grips.

i mostly do cross country, but i do enjoy some downhill slighly technical trails. Would love to have a go at doing jumps also!
    Budget wise i reckon £100 max at the moment, but i can afford to go higher for the right stuff :)

Hope that helps, i'm a bit of a newbie to customising bikes!!
  • jamski
    Contact points are always a good place to start. Grips, pedals, tyres. Shorter stem and wider bar will make the bike more 'modern', not sure if it would mess with the handling though if the bike is designed for a certain length stem at least.

Then if you're doing more trail riding a dropper post is always good, but that will be over your budget.

Fork/shock service and skills training are other things to think about spending money on.

First off, if you're thinking grips, go for it. I like the Easton lock ins and they come in all sorts of colours. I normally get a contrasting colour. :) £10 on chain reaction. Enjoy.
  • adowling92
    jamski wrote: