Powermeter advice on a budget

burnthesheep
burnthesheep Posts: 675
edited June 2017 in Road buying advice
I frequently read the DC Rainmaker reviews. They seem thorough and fairly unbiased.

Essentially, if new, I'm between a 4iiii left only unit at $400 or a new non-direct measure Powerpod.

If used, I'd either get a used 4iiii left only OR a set of Garmin pedal for one side only.

I don't have the talent nor ever will to justify $800 or more on a power meter. I can train with power on a trainer at the gym at my workplace.

I don't need it to be super accurate, just somewhat consistent.

DC reviewed the Powerpod fairly well and the data followed direct measure units pretty well. But, I somehow find the concept a bit......lame (uninteresting, silly). But......they claim to have their own pedal stroke analysis.....somehow. Also you could I guess hope for their upgrade at some point to analyze cD for TT positioning if they agree on an ant+ field for it.

Given I'm no trained pro, I'm sure some tool like that may help for pedal stroke and aero.

My goal is to have a meter to be able to effectively work myself on the road without guessing on effort.

I'm not into expensive stuff as I'll only ever probably hit an ftp of about 250w and 5 min max of maybe 320. Nothing impressive worth blowing $1000 on.

If the Powerpod gets a nod, I'd spend the $300 soon.

Comments

• I don't need it to be super accurate,

Then riding on PE will probably be the best money you can spend
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 14,498
    I advise against the powerpod. Old versions were universally panned. I can't see newer versions being anything other than less bad.

Has dcrainmaker reviewed one of these yet?

http://road.cc/content/tech-news/221643 ... er-launch-£250
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Get a turbo that has power. You can do better sessions on there and so long as it's consistent....
  • gethinceri