New cycle Storage lockers at work, Insurance invalid apparently

Sim2003
Sim2003 Posts: 5
edited July 2017 in Commuting general
Well this is my first time posting on these forums so hi all who read. A little abput me and the location I am talking about first so a little perspective is given. I work in Coventry City centre 4:30am-11:00am Thurs-Monday and my bike a Trek 520.

I have been commuting to this current workplace for the past 3 years and had no issues at all with the cycle parking we had in place and it gradually got worse to better.

We had a caged area without a roof and a coded lock for access, then a load of the U-bend bike rails. (I would post a image but cant see how). I use 2 D-locks a cable lock and padlock to secure my saddle. So I had no real worries someone would choose to steal mine over others that were poorly locked if at all.

However other people kept getting bikes stolen. 1 lad had his taken twice, a manager had his taken and a few others over the past year.

So the company has installed Bikemaster double sided bike lockers. Which to me is a real nice gesture as they did not have to spend the kind of money they have on these and they do look a lot more secure than the cage and posts. But my bike insurance does not cover me because my bike is not secured to a fixed immovable object.

Also my worry about these units is that knowing how clever/desperate thieves are once one does get inside one unit then they will be able to get into any. So with my bike being a equal target it leaves me in a bit of a situation as to where I park my bike.

I would use rails just over the road from work but they are always empty at that time of morning and when I have seen a bike on it at the time I finish they are often vandalised.

If you did read it all thank you :) I would like to have made it shorter.

Comments

• timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482