First Post- Contemplating Century in 6 Weeks

tomandjerry00
tomandjerry00 Posts: 2
edited June 2017 in Road beginners
First post!

Been a rider for a long time, but just getting into the road game. I am a grad student intern at a hospital which is hosting a (flat) century ride at the end of July. My longest ride to date was 60 miles (about 10 years ago on a mountain bike...) but I spin 2-3 days a week (45 min @ 315 watts) and go on 25-30 miles rides on the weekends @ ~18.5 mph. Only major issue on my rides is hand numbness after an hour or two even when I make an effort to keep more weight on the saddle.

I ride a Schwinn Fastback RX cyclocross with full Sora components and aluminum frame/fork. Not the best road bike, but does great for my commute and weekend rides. I am hoping to ride this for the century as cash is quite tight. I'm hoping with some decent slicks it will be a usable machine. Plan on spending cash on better bike shorts, new saddle, gloves, etc.

I've been looking at this training schedule: http://www.cachegranfondo.com/updates/2 ... -a-century

So what do you think? Doable? Thoughts on training?

Thanks for all your help in advance!

Comments

• grenw
    grenw Posts: 803
    I managed a century fairly easily on my 4th road ride after riding mountain bikes for 4 or 5 years (4-6 hours a week). Started at 25 miles and added another 25 every ride. No training necessary unless you're aiming for a particular time. I just rode for a bit longer.

Not a problem to be honest as I took things at my own pace and made sure I ate something every hour. Took around 8 hours including stops so was hardly going to set the world on fire. Still one of my favourite rides - a sunny day in the New Forest with lunch by the sea helped quite a bit!
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,172