We're developing a cycling training app and looking for beta users

2»

Comments

• jkosir
    jkosir Posts: 19
    So after a failed Kickstarter we decided to continue developing our app at a bit slower pace, we'll focus on power based plans first.

Also now the beta version is available to everyone at http://beta.summittraining.org/, no signup code required!
  • As a coach, I'm not overly sure how such a system accounts for the multitude of variables involved when deciding what training to assign each day.

How does the system know about local environmental conditions, or the nature of training routes and facilities available, or account for variable psychological responses to training, let alone unique physiological profile and response factors? Then there are rest of life factors for each individual, changes in time available to train, other forms of physical and mental stress and so on. What is the current status of the athlete - have they been ill recently, had a break, starting back from injury or a long layoff? Individualisation of training involves much more than assessing power meter data.

So I logged in and selected from the few options what on face value would be about right for me. However the very first workout was completely inappropriate, and indeed would be impossible for me to complete. I looked at the first month of workouts and again they were just way off the mark because some fairly basic things about me were not accounted for.

There is certainly merit in providing a basic level of customisation and then leaving it up to the individual to manage variations, as following a half decent plan is better than being aimless.

As a coach I will always hand craft training schedules to suit my clients and this will account for a multitude of variables, including an assessment of relevant power data analytics (of which the market is already well supplied) - but analytics is just one part of the performance improvement puzzle.